The Bones of It

BoI-Website (2).jpg
BoI-Website (2).jpg

The Bones of It

12.99

Thrown out of university, green-tea-drinking, meditation-loving Scott McAuley has no place to go but home: County Down, Northern Ireland. The only problem is, his father is there now too.

Duke wasn’t around when Scott was growing up. He was in prison for stabbing two Catholic kids in an alley. But thanks to the Good Friday Agreement, big Duke is out now, reformed, a counselor.

Squeezed together into a small house, with too little work and too much time to think about what happened to Scott’s dead mother, the tension grows between these two men, who seem to have so little in common.

Penning diary entries from prison, Scott recalls what happened that year. He writes about Jasmine, his girlfriend at university. He writes about Klaudia, back home in County Down, who he and Duke both admired. He weaves a tale of lies, rage and paranoia. 

Praise for The Bones of It

'Blackly comic in tone, The Bones of It is a Bildungsroman that evolves into a slow-burning psychological exploration of the mind of a most unlikely killer... an engrossing tale of the consequences of living a life steeped in a culture of violence.'The Irish Times

'The story bends with multiple twists... For Fans of Claire McGowan (who wrote The Fall) and Alex Barclay.'—Sinéad Gleeson, Image Magazine

'Compelling, compulsive, compassionate. Scott's is an authentic voice, and Creighton a writer to reckon with.' —Sue Leonard, Irish Examiner and Books Ireland

'The Bones of It is a devilishly clever mystery that in its own way twists the genre back onto itself as did Agatha Christie's The Murder of Roger Aykroyd all those years ago...not just a novel to read, it is a novel to experience.'—Hubert O'Hearn,  San Diego Book Review

'Incredibly well written.'Sinéad Crowley, author of Can Anybody Help Me?

'A brilliant crime debut, chilling, compulsive and beautifully written. Fans of The Butcher Boy and The Book of Evidence will find much to love in The Bones of It. A hugely impressive addition to the growing body of Irish crime fiction.' —New York Times bestselling author, Brian McGilloway

'This finely written thriller keeps the reader gripped and intrigued...a meaty, fascinating work of fiction.' —CultureHUB Magazine

About the Author

Kelly Creighton is an arts facilitator and the editor of The Incubator literary journal. She was named runner-up for the Michael McLaverty Short Story Award in 2014, and has been shortlisted for the Seamus Heaney Award for New Writing, the Fish Short Story Prize and the Cúirt New Writing Prize for fiction. She received an SIAP grant from the Arts Council of Northern Ireland in 2013. Her writing has featured in The Stinging Fly, Litro and Cyphers, among other places. Her poetry chapbook, Three Primes, was published by Lapwing. Creighton co-founded the Square Circle Writers’ Group in Newtownards.

ISBN: 9781910742020

Quantity:
Add To Cart