Selected Stories: Audiobook

Kiely Audiobook.jpg
Kiely Audiobook.jpg

Selected Stories: Audiobook


In the 2011 book Selected Stories, Ben Forkner gathered some of the best examples of legendary Irish writer Benedict Kiely’s work. This audiobook includes eight of the short stories from that book, chosen by Kiely’s widow, Frances Kiely, and read in 2014 by actor Jonathan White. 

These six discs  have a combined running time of 6 hours and 23 minutes, and include biographical information about the author and the editor, as well as the following stories: 

• The Heroes of the Dark House 
• The Dogs in the Great Glen
• The Shortest Way Home 
• A Journey to the Seven Streams 
• A Great God’s Angel Standing 
• A Room in Linden 
• A Ball of Malt and Madame Butterfly
• Down Then By Derry 

About the Author

Benedict Kiely, novelist, short story writer, journalist, broadcaster and lecturer, was born in Dromore, County Tyrone in 1919 and raised in Omagh. After graduating from University College Dublin in 1943, Kiely settled in Dublin and began what was to be a long and prolific writing career. By 1945 he was a full-time critic for the Irish Independent and had also published his first book, Counties of Contention, a non-fiction account of the partition of Ireland.

His first novel, Land Without Stars, was published shortly afterwards and was followed by a steady flow of highly praised novels and short story collections including The Cards of the Gambler (1953), There Was an Ancient House (1955), The Captain with the Whiskers (1960), A Journey to the Seven Streams (1963), A Ball of Malt and Madame Butterfly (1973), Proxpera (1977), The State of Ireland (1985) and God's Own Country (1993), as well as numerous works of non-fiction and two volumes of memoirs, Drink to the Bird (1991) and The Waves Behind Us (1999). Having lectured and taught widely across Ireland and the United States, Kiely was Literary Editor of the Irish Press, and a regular contributor to the New Yorker and The Irish Times. A recipient of the Award for Literature from the Irish Academy of Letters and member of Aosdána, he passed away in 2007.

ISBN: 9781909718593

Add To Cart